jump to navigation

Children’s Books for College August 26, 2011

Posted by ccbooks in Uncategorized.
trackback

Hello. Ana here.

I have moved out. I’m now installed at the University of Virginia, where I spend my days running from class to class and pondering deep thoughts. In my spare time, though, (of which I have very little) I have been reading.

Really, I’ve been reading the Iliad, and Richard II and my Astronomy textbook, but none of that was particularly interesting. What is interesting is my bookshelves here at college.

I brought 56 books with me to college, a number that shocked most people by its enormity, and eventually shocked me by its minuteness.

My dorm room at college. The bookshelves aren’t perfectly clear, but hopefully clear enough.

The (children’s) books I brought with me:

  • Swallows and Amazons
  • Jellicoe Road
  • Looking for Alaska
  • Saffy’s Angel
  • Star of Kazan
  • Journey to the River Sea
  • Trickster’s Queen
  • Ruby in the Smoke
  • Sorcery and Cecelia
  • The Game

These were the children’s books that, for one reason or another, I felt were essential. Swallows and Amazons was given to me as a parting gift from a friend, since it was her favorite childhood book. I’ve only just started it, but I really like it so far. Maybe I’ll do a review of it when I finish it.

As a book that consistently makes me cry, Jellicoe Road definitely earned a place on the bookshelf. I’m not obsessed with Looking for Alaska, but I think it’s a great book, and it’s one that I re-read often, so it came along for the ride too.

Cecilia and I already talked about the Casson family series, so you already know my opinions on Saffy’s Angel and hopefully you’ll understand why I had to bring it with me. I’ll only say in supplement that it’s a book my best friend Libby and I both love. In the series, Saffy and Sarah are best friends and have this incredible bond. Libby and I have dozens of nicknames for each other, but the ones we come back to are Sarah (her) and Saffy (me). Having Saffy’s Angel at college makes me feel close to her.

I can’t remember whether Cecilia and I have done a post yet about Eva Ibbotson. We disagree on several points about her, but one point we do agree on is that Journey to the River Sea was her best book and that Star of Kazan was her second best. I personally love Eva Ibbotson’s historical fiction and they are both books that I will pick up every month or so and re-read.

I meant to bring Trickster’s Choice with me as well as Trickster’s Queen, but somehow it didn’t get packed. I’ll grab it when I go home for Fall Break. I have to have some Tamora Pierce at college with me. Tammy Pierce was my favorite author for so long and still is one of my top five. I admit freely that the quality of her books is not always terrific and she can’t really be compared to people like J.K. Rowling or J.R.R. Tolkien, but I had to have some of her books with me and the Trickster series is the best in my opinion.

I love Philip Pullman’s Ruby in the Smoke and I think it’s the best of the Sally Lockhart series. The first book in a series so often is. Another book that falls under this rule is Sorcery and Cecelia, which is kind of the basic template for the renowned Letter Game.

Finally, I brought Diana Wynne Jones’ The Game with me. I was so sad when Diana Wynne Jones died earlier this year and I really wanted to take one of her books with me. I adore the Crestomanci series, but I couldn’t choose between them, so I ended up with The Game. I think The Game is one of the most perfect novellas written and it’s a very relaxing read.

These books are not my entire library here at college by any stretch of the imagination. But I don’t think any library is complete without a children’s section, large or small. So this is mine.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

