jump to navigation

Introducing Imagination Station September 3, 2011

Posted by ccbooks in Bookstore.
trackback

The main reason I love children’s books and know so much about them is because I worked for six years at this place:

Imagination Station existed for about 21 years in Arlington, Virginia. Family-owned and operated, it offered a fantastic selection of books for kids of all ages, as well as a very small section of adult bestsellers. This is the place where I re-discovered all the picture books I loved when I was little, where I read every single Betsy-Tacy book ever written and where I celebrated the book releases of Harry Potter 4, 5, and 6.

As an independent bookstore in a tiny suburban strip mall, it was a toss up each day as to whether we would get any customers. Consequently, my fellow bookstore workers and I spent a good chunk of time making up games, reading books that had been on the shelf for years and going through the drawers of book catalogues and free books from publishers.

You can just make out the purple cart in front of the window, which held all of our sale books jumbled together in no particular order. I spent a lot of time going through the cart and debating whether or not to get some obscure picture book or non-fiction selection for $4 but I usually held off, knowing that they probably wouldn’t be going anywhere for awhile.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

