jump to navigation

What My Students Are Reading: October October 12, 2011

Posted by ccbooks in Classroom Books.
trackback

A few of our current favorites

We are now in the second month of school, which means that my students have gotten used to the fact that there are too many books in my classroom and they have started to get demanding. “When will you get the new Percy Jackson?” “Why don’t you have Big Nate books?” “Can you get a book about lemurs?” are all common themes these days. Fortunately, there are still plenty of fun series’ to discover, so here are a few of the books my class is reading.

1. Babymouse by Jennifer and Matthew Holm. I think this brother/sister collaboration is adorable and this year both boys and girls are devouring them. The color scheme of the book is black and white and pink, so when one of my boys was reading it, a girl came up to him and asked “Why are you reading that girl book?” His response? “It’s not a girl book or a boy book. It’s just a book!” Amen, I say!

2. Calling on Dragons by Patricia C. Wrede. I absolutely love this series, the Enchanted Forest Chronicles, and I think it plays really well with fans of both the ‘complicated world-building Harry Potter’ type fantasy and the ‘more classic, fairytale retelling’ fantasy. They do have a lot of text though, so I’m thrilled I have turned my student Isabella on to the adventures of Cimorene and her companions.

3. The Boys Return by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor. I usually read a Beverly Cleary or Andrew Clements book for my realistic fiction example this time of year, but because so many of my kids were already familiar with those authors, I decided to try something different. I read The Girls Get Even, which, like this book, is part of the Boys Against Girls series. Naylor does a fantastic job of inventing silly pranks and keeping the laughs coming. My kids are begging me to read the next book in the series, but I’ve told them it’s their turn to read it on their own and most of the series is now checked out. Yay!

4. Scary Stories by Alvin Schwartz. Halloween is right around the corner and ghost stories, vampire books and monster tales are on every kid’s mind. These creepy stories with even creepier illustrations are always popular and this year is no exception.

All in all, a solid start to the year. Now I just have to think about how I can turn them on to non-fiction. More on that later!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

