jump to navigation

2011 Books: Overview December 27, 2011

Posted by ccbooks in Nerd Line.
trackback

At the beginning of this year, I made a goal for myself. For the first time ever, I would try to keep a list of all the books I read throughout the whole year. People have occasionally asked if I do this, but then nodded and smiled when I explained that I read so many short books (picture books, short chapter books) that I wasn’t sure I could ever really keep up. Some days while my class is listening to a story in library, I’ll read three or four picture books, waiting for them.

So this year was an adventure. A 239 book adventure. I’m sure I missed a few in there (sometimes I would forget and then have to scan my shelf of library books, trying to figure out what had already been written down) and it would REALLY help if I could search my library check out record for books I’ve already returned. It’s hard to tell what I read the most of–it’s probably a somewhat even split between middle-grade and YA if I had to take a guess. Maybe next year I will set up pretty spreadsheets and keep track of which genres I read the most of. Or not. It was hard enough remembering where I had put the notebook I was scribbling in this year; I have the feeling that if I had to actually open a file and find the right page, I just wouldn’t bother!

This was a good year for reading. Scanning the pages, I could remember at least something about each book (ok, so there were a few where I thought “I read THAT? When?”) and there were many where I could remember exactly where I was when I read it and what my reactions were (always a sign of a really good book!). I haven’t been able to review nearly enough books in the few months I’ve had this blog, so despite my love/hate relationship with ‘Best Of’ lists, I will put together my top ten or twelve books of the year. Check back soon!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

