jump to navigation

The Battle is About to Begin February 21, 2012

Posted by ccbooks in Nerd Line.
trackback

What did I do with all my time before I discovered School Library Journal? From articles to book reviews to blogs, it seems incredible that I managed to keep up with children’s literature before I was introduced to this publication.

One of the things I love is how the cycle of children’s lit talk goes roughly along with the school year. When I get back to the classroom in September, the buzz is starting to build for the ALA Youth Media Awards; we argue and discuss and rant via the various blogs devoted to the Newbery and Caldecott, then in late January we begin again with the SLJ Battle of the Kid’s Books. This lasts just about through April, at which point I start going absolutely crazy preparing my students for high stakes testing and I have no more time to think about books until school is over in June. By which point most blogs and librarians have started reviewing and discussing everything they were lucky enough to pick up at the ALA Summer Convention….and I’m in a state of jealousy until fall.

But back to the Battle. The School Library Journal Battle of the Kid’s Books takes sixteen books and puts them in brackets. Each pair is judged by an author, one book moves to the next round, and so on until the final bout, where an eliminated book is brought back through popular vote to slug it out with the last two. Sixteen books. One winner.

Can you say EXCITING?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

