jump to navigation

News that Makes Me Excited March 12, 2012

Posted by ccbooks in Nerd Line.
trackback

In my wanderings and readings around the internet last week, I came across a couple of book related items that made me go “Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!” I’ll spare you a sound file of the noise, but here are the news items that got me out of my chair and doing a happy dance.

100 Scope Notes blog:  Travis Jonker’s Morning News post last week had as its final item the finalists for the LA Times Book Prize. I don’t care about the nominees for the adult literature prizes, but the Young Adult nominees are FANTASTIC. I’ve read all of them and the only one that left me going “meh” was The Big Crunch by Pete Hautman. The slow pace just didn’t do a lot for me. But the rest? Oh my goodness! Pirates and monsters, nuclear war and killer fairy horses! I can’t wait to see who gets picked as the winner.

Educating AliceMonica Edinger over at Educating Alice posted a long list of books coming the fall that she is excited about. It is a very extensive list, and while there are many books that made me go “Yay!” (Princess Academy sequel and new Ned Vizzini, I’m looking at you!) there was one that truly got me up and applauding furiously. And that is a brand new book by Laura Amy Schlitz, who has NEVER disappointed me. Each of her previous books has been completely unique (biography, fairytale, monologues, early chapter book, historical mystery) and each has been completely compelling. So I cannot wait to get my hands on Splendor and Glooms, coming later this year. Even better, every reference online cites “Toys” and “Puppets” as descriptive words. AWESOME!!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

