jump to navigation

And So It Begins….Battle Round 1, Matches 1 & 2 March 17, 2012

Posted by ccbooks in Nerd Line.
trackback

Hooray for March Madness and the SLJ Battle of the Books! The official rounds started yesterday and the only reason I’m slightly disappointed is that I never worked out an official list of predictions. So I resort to closing my eyes just before clicking on the link each morning and briefly saying “I think….this one will win!”  So far, I’ve had one right, and one wrong. My goal is to post about the rounds every couple of days, focusing on my favorite quotes from each judge. So far we have…

“Nothing says punk rock research like microfilm” –Matt Phelan

I have a few memories of searching through newspapers on microfilm for school, but now I have no idea what kind of project I was doing, unless my teachers just wanted me to ruin my eyesight more. I loved the details in Anya’s Ghost but Amelia Lost was one of my favorite books of the year and I was crushed that I couldn’t get more of my students excited about it. I’m glad Phelan was so enthusiastic about it!

“Rule-breaking and hypocrisy? A glossary that includes term like blind pig? What’s not to love?” –Gayle Forman

This match was the only one where I hadn’t read one of the book. In the midst of school stress, scheduling rehearsals for various shows and looking ahead to summer plans, I just couldn’t get through Between Shades of Grey, no matter how powerful the story. Granted, it took me two tries to get through Bootleg too. I chose Bootleg in my head to win, because I thought it was interesting and well-written, but also because it was the book I had read!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

