jump to navigation

Because We Love Him… May 8, 2012

Posted by ccbooks in Nerd Line.
trackback

Neil Gaiman talks to the NYTimes Book Review about his reading habits this week! Find the article here. If there is something more enjoyable than reading what a vastly entertaining and thought-provoking author thinks about books and reading, I don’t know what it is. Well, aside from the obvious: a new book by said author. Hint, hint.

Gaiman drops a few names that he often mentions, including Hope Mirrilees, C.S. Lewis and G.K. Chesterton. I’m intrigued by his description of the non-fiction book he is currently reading Just My Type. I’m now slightly worried about my teacherly love of Comic Sans. I am excited that he is planning to read The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern(which Ana and I haven’t reviewed, despite the fact that we both read it back in January and enjoyed it very much) and I am curious to hear his thoughts on it.

My favorite answer in this interview is when Gaiman gets asked about books he didn’t like or put down without finishing. He discloses that his second year judging the Arthur C. Clarke Awards, he “…read a lot of first chapters and took delight in hurling books across the room if I knew I would not be reading the second chapter.”

Shame wins in the end though. “Then I’d go and pick them up again, because they are books after all, and we are not savages” he admits. And this why we love Gaiman. Because he is not a savage. Because he not only loves books, he respects them as well.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

