jump to navigation

Thank you, Peter Sirueta June 1, 2012

Posted by ccbooks in Uncategorized.
trackback

I was very sad to learn earlier this week that one of my favorite bloggers, Peter Sirueta, passed away unexpectedly last weekend. When I first started paying close attention to the blogs on School Library Journal, it was exciting to realize that many of the same people were commenting on all the different sites. I could always count on Peter to get a heated discussion going on Heavy Medal–he was so honest and always had an interesting take on the book being discussed.

Peter’s blog, Collecting Children’s Books, soon became one of my Sunday habits, a page I would always check, no matter what else was going on. I loved hearing about the rare books he scored from bookseller friends, and his April Fools jokes were the best on the internet. Whenever I knew the old book he was referencing, like the Tucker family series, I felt inordinately proud of myself.

Thank you Peter, for writing such witty, insightful comments and posts, and for making me love this literature even more. You will be greatly missed.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

