jump to navigation

The Catalog part of Card Catalog July 15, 2012

Posted by ccbooks in Nerd Line.
trackback

So it’s been awhile since my last post. Mostly due to this:

That was the state of my sister’s room in my parent’s house, which was supposed to become the library. We had all her books, all my old books and the books I kept from my classroom library when I left full-time teaching this summer. Plus all the family picture books and children’s classics. My parents were incredibly nice and bought ceiling high IKEA bookshelves for one wall. Now, if it were up to Ana, all the books would just be put on whatever shelf they fit into most easily. This is how she has organized her books for the past 18 years. I, on the other hand, like to be able to reliably find books by the same author or in the same series, so I insisted on a little more organization.

It took a little teeth-pulling. And a lot of putting books in piles and then shifting piles around the room so we could get back to the bookcases. In the process, we got rid of a bunch more books, argued about cover art and discovered that yes, we do have at least six different copies of A Wrinkle in Time. And finally, the room started to look more like this:

We haven’t quite finished everything. But now the floor looks more like this:

And I’m pretty sure another bookcase will complete the library and it will all be beautiful.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

