jump to navigation

A Review Experiment November 26, 2012

Posted by ccbooks in Book Reviews, Quotes.
trackback

Problem: I just finished a new YA book by Sarah Rees Brennan, which I quite liked but I don’t really have time to review it. 

Solution: Pull a bunch of quotes I liked and have that be the outline of the review. We’ll see how well it works. 

Unspoken, by Sarah Rees Brennan is the first in a series about the Lynburn family, who have just returned to the small English town of Sorry-in-the-Vale. Everyone seems to be afraid of them, and Kami Glass, an aspiring reporter is determined to figure out why. Kami and her best friend Angela have conversations consisting of a lot of banter. 

“So you were basically interrogating poor Mrs. Thompson, who is probably a hundred and twenty years old?” (said Angela) “I was acquiring information” Kami said calmly. “Also licorice.” “You are shameless,” Angela said. “I hope you feel good about your life choices.” Kami looked out at the valley again. There were stories to be found here, and she was going to discover them all.

Kami uses her school newspaper as a way to account for her snooping around the Lynburns. 

“People took home copies for their parents,” Kami announced and did a victory dance in the privacy of her headquarters. “The photocopy machine overheated and broke down. I think I can still hear the sound of it sobbing and wanting to talk about it’s childhood.”

And sometimes she goes a little beyond the bounds of legality in getting her information.

Victory! Kami announced, leaving up and running into the office with her arms spread wide like an airplane. If I wasn’t going to be a world-famous journalist and if I didn’t have such respect for truth and justice, I could be an amazing master criminal.

My favorite part of this book was Kami’s no-nonsense attitude–she talks straight, doesn’t get all choked up and nervous in awkward moments and can take care of herself without a boy. 

“Oh, I want to meet him,” Kami said instantly. “Not in a loopy ‘I want to meet your parents, I want your babies’ way. For the interview! Let’s go.”

“You look so sweet when you sleep, ” Kami said. “Like an emo ten-year-old’s first Vampire Bride Barbie. Pull the string on the back and she says cruel things to her hardworking friends.”

“Don’t feel bad, Angela.” Kami said. “You know guys, they only want one thing. Repartee. I can’t count how many times men have admired my well-turned phrases. The shallow jerks.”

The plot got a little too convoluted and dramatic for my taste, but to be fair, Brennan is playing with gothic conventions, so the drama is to be expected. I look forward to seeing where the series goes next. 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

