jump to navigation

Books I Don’t Need December 23, 2012

Posted by ccbooks in Nerd Line.
trackback

But I really want them. Isn’t Christmas about needless presents? I probably won’t buy any of these titles. As a collector though, it would be nice to have them on the shelves to gloat over.

A Christmas Carol, illustrated by Quentin Blake

I already have a very nice copy of this book, but it is a tale that I think of mostly in images (and songs sung by Muppets). I love seeing how different illustrators interpret the familiar scenes and characters. Blake’s use of line and spiky angular style is so different from the usual rounded, lush Victorian images associated with the story that I just want to have it on my shelf to browse through occasionally. I also wouldn’t mind getting my hands on a copy of the edition illustrated by Irish illustrator P. J. Lynch…

The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster (50th Anniversary Edition)

I know. There is NO REASON for me to have yet another copy of this book–I already have the 35th edition paperback with an appreciation by Maurice Sendak and the Annotated edition by Leonard Marcus. But this one has colored endpapers! And essays from Philip Pullman, Jeanne Birdsall AND Mo Willems! I mean, really…

Nikolenka’s Childhood, by Leo Tolstoy, illustrated by Maurice Sendak

After discovering Sendak’s amazing illustrations for I Saw Esau,  a collection of schoolyard rhymes, I’m on a bit of a kick finding obscure Sendak. Especially the quirky small kid illustrations, closer to A Hole is to Dig than Outside Over There. This looks lovely!

Anything illustrated by Trina Schart Hyman

There are only a few authors who I collect seriously and even fewer illustrators. Hyman is one of them. There are always new details for me to discover in her paintings and I love seeing how she interprets scenes from fairy tales, realistic fiction and just about every other genre out there. One of these days I’ll have to add some illustrators to my ‘Top 5 Things I Love” series and she will probably be the first person I write about.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

