jump to navigation

ALAYMA Thoughts February 3, 2013

Posted by ccbooks in Nerd Line.
trackback

A new shadow puppet show to build and technical rehearsals for a magical realism epic meant that I have not posted about ALA Youth Media Awards until now. The title of this post is the result of this being the first year I followed the awards via Twitter as well as the webcast. Thanks to people like Travis Jonker of 100 Scope Notes, I felt a little more like I was in the room and sharing the excitement.

Overall, I’m thrilled. Lots of gorgeous books that I was hoping would win shiny medals and a few surprises that I’m now eager to read. Let’s recap, briefly:

Printz Award: 

Code Name Verity? Check. Still wish it had won gold, but I’ll take silver. I have not read In Darkness, but will be doing so as soon as I can get a copy from either DC or Arlington Library. I have to say I wasn’t that thrilled with Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe but now that it won three awards, maybe I should go back and re-read. Nothing about it really stuck with me and I remember thinking that the contrast between the two main characters was very similar to the contrast between the protagonists of The Last Summer of the Death Warriors by Francisco Stork. Still. May have to give it another shot.

Caldecott Medal:

I’m a little disappointed not to see a Stead here. However, I love Extra Yarn, and This is not my Hat was in my top five way back in November. So really, I can’t complain. Only…what about those lions and puppet pictures and clever meta-stories?

Newbery Medal:

Absolutely no complaints here. I loved The One and Only Ivan, and think that the comparisons to Charlotte’s Web are entirely justified. I actually tried to sell this book the day before the awards to a mother who was looking for good read alouds for her 8 and 6 year old kids. She had already chosen the E.B. White, and I tried to talk up Ivan, but she said she really only wanted ‘classics.’ Oh well, it meant that we had a copy at the store to display the next day! Splendors and Glooms of course was at the top of my list and both Bomb and Three Times Lucky were fantastic.

Margaret Edwards Award

This was the announcement that made me jump up and down, waving my hands in the air. Tamora Pierce was the writer who got me hooked on fantasy (after Lewis and Tolkien) and my siblings and I still quote her books regularly at one another. She is my top comfort author–I read her books when I am stressed or sad and need a break from the real world. I’m so happy to see her get recognized for her contributions to YA literature!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

