jump to navigation

Already Thinking about Fall April 10, 2013

Posted by ccbooks in Nerd Line.
trackback

I know. It’s only just started to get warm here in DC and both spring and summer are still to be savored, so why skip two seasons and think about fall?

Well, because Publishers Weekly recently put up its Fall 2013 Sneak Preview. (Thanks, 100 Scope Notes for the link! The script that I was supposed to be writing when I lost an hour to scrolling through it does not thank you, unfortunately!) Twelve reasons I’m excited:

1. Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures by Kate DiCamillo. Whether the book is about mice or a toy rabbit, Ms. DiCamillo always writes in beautiful images, so the fact that the title includes the word ‘illuminated’ just makes me even more excited.

2. I love maps and I have great respect for the literary journal McSweeney’s, so just about everything from the new Candlewick imprint Big Picture Press looks cool to me.

3. Yes! We are Latinos puts Alma Flor Ada and F. Isabel Campoy back together for another title, which after Tales Our Abuelitas Told can only be cause for jubilation.

4. Little Red Writing by Joan Holub is not only illustrated by Melissa Sweet, who I love but also sounds like the perfect title to join The Little Red Pen in a puppet show about writing utensils.

5. Pretty much everything from Enchanted Lion sounds amazing and beautiful.

6. The Paradox of Vertical Flight by Emil Ostrovski sounds intriguing and I’m excited to read the final book in The Girl of Fire and Thorns trilogy by Rae Carson.

7. Huzzah for a sequel to The Last Dragonslayer by Jasper Fforde. I’m eager to see how Jennifer handles the next set of problem wizards to come her way.

8. I love both Joyce Sidman and Pamela Zagarenski, so I will be heavily lobbying for my bookstore to order their new book What the Heart Knows: Chants, Charms and Blessings. 

9. City Cat, by Kate Banks, sounds adorable, especially if it has illustrations by Lauren Castillo.

10: I’m beyond excited that both Cecil Castellucci and Philip C. Stead have new books coming in the fall.

11. The Nine Lives of Alexander Baddenfield pairs John Bemelmans Marciano with Sophie Blackall and I am curious to see the results. 

12. Susan Cooper has a new book. It is called Ghost Hawk. ‘Nuff said.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

