jump to navigation

Five Reasons I Love Paperbacks June 4, 2013

Posted by ccbooks in Nerd Line.
trackback

Each year, I have to restrain myself from buying too many books and often make a deal inside my head. “You can get it when it comes out in paperback,” I tell myself. I had a discussion once with an ex about which was better: hardback books or paperbacks. He insisted that hardbacks would last longer, were easier to keep in good condition and looked nicer on the shelf. Perhaps. But here are my five reasons why I love paperbacks.

1. Cheaper 

This is kind of the top one. I’m a freelance artist, with a pretty small income. Yes, I only support myself, but I live in one of the more expensive cities in the US and much to my dismay, you can’t eat books. Hardcover chapter books are almost always going to be more than $20, while the paperback editions are around $5-$10.

2. Lighter

I spend a lot of time reading on public transport (and occasionally missing my stop as a result). Since I’m going from place to place all day, carrying multiple hardcovers is hard on my back.

3. Smaller

Pretty much the same as #2. I can fit paperbacks into my bag more easily, especially trade fiction.

4. Better covers (sometimes)

If a book that I really like has a cover that I find misleading or ugly, there is always the chance that it will be improved in the paperback edition. Not always, but I can hope.

5. Extras!

This is the sneaky way that publishers try to entice me into buying a second copy of something, even if I already own the hardcover. Interviews with the author, award acceptance speeches, previews of the next book coming out, playlists of songs and recipes are all tidbits that have been added to recent paperback editions. One more reason to wait until they come out to buy a book. You never know what treasure might be waiting in those final pages.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

