jump to navigation

Books I Didn’t Buy in France September 13, 2013

Posted by ccbooks in Nerd Line.
trackback

Ana and I set off for Europe this summer with only 3 books each. Neither of us owns a Kindle or other electronic reading device, so those three titles had to sustain us through France and Spain. Despite my lack of language skills (in French at least), I knew I wanted to take a look in local bookstores and see what new picture books are being published there today. Ana considered it her duty to keep me from adding to the backpacks we were carrying, so all I took was pictures. Here are some titles that caught my eye.

100_3638

Rebecca Dautremer’s lush colors in L’amoreaux, delicate brushwork in Le pecheur et le cormoran, and the main character in Elzbieta l’ecuyere who reminded me of Crockett Johnson’s work.

100_3639

These three titles all share unusual animal characters, as well as a bold graphic sensibility to the illustrations. Will someone please translate them into English?

100_3640

The one that was hardest to leave behind. It’s about a little girl whose book is coming apart and so she goes to the bookbinder to get it fixed. At least, that’s what I understood with my very minimal French. The story reminded me a little of the Linnea books, but the illustration style shares elements with greats such as Emily Arnold McCully. Beautiful!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

