jump to navigation

Books I DID Buy in the UK September 17, 2013

Posted by ccbooks in Nerd Line.
trackback

100_4278

So once Ana and I landed in London, I will point out that she was the one to start our rash of book-buying.  In big-box stores (Waterstones), renowned independents (Blackwells), small stores with their own imprints and of course the ubiquitous charity shops, especially Oxfam, we went a little crazy. Ana wrote on her blog that I shop for books the way other women shop for clothes: continuously, and I cheerfully admit it.

IMG_1051

Quite a few of the titles above are plays; the Royal Court Theatre sells scripts of its current season for three pounds, a deal too good to pass up. Others are additions to collections of a particular series or author; the Brambly Hedge series and books by Cicely Mary Barker. I found a paperback edition of Keats, which I had been looking for for awhile, another set of Scottish folktales and David Almond’s latest picture book, which I’ll review more fully soon.

I bought two memoirs, both published by tiny presses run by independent bookstores in London. A London Child of the 1870’s which I picked up to satisfy my love of Victorian history, is published by Persephone Books, a press dedicated to publishing “forgotten fiction and non-fiction by unjustly neglected authors.” Almost all the books are by women. The other book is Blue Remembered Hills, a beautiful account of childhood by Rosemary Sutcliff. Sutcliff is one of my favorite historical authors and I was thrilled to find this title at the charming store Slightly Foxed, in Gloucester Road. I am a reader who loves knowing details about my favorite authors and this memoir has them in abundance, with the precise sensory details that Sutcliff excels at. Hooray for London’s fantastic independent bookstores!

100_4368100_4406

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

