jump to navigation

ALA Awards: Early Thoughts November 18, 2013

Posted by ccbooks in Nerd Line.
trackback

I guess really it’s not so early. At any rate,  here are my thoughts on possible winners of the top ALA YM Awards.

Newbery: Unlike last year, when Splendors and Glooms stole my heart in June, there is no middle grade book I’m really feeling evangelical about.  There are several that I would be perfectly happy with seeing with stickers though:

The Real Boy by Anne Ursu

The True Blue Scouts of Sugar Man Swamp by Kathi Appelt

The Thing About Luck by Cynthia Kahodata

And I’d probably be happy with Far Far Away by Tom McNeal getting something, although I really hope that teachers won’t just then randomly assign it to kids because it’s an award winner. It’s SCARY.

Printz: My top pick for this is probably Boxers and Saints, which I am still pondering and questioning and wondering about (in a good way). I have greater love for Fangirl but I think Eleanor and Park is in some ways more original.

The Summer Prince by Alaya Dawn Johnson

Boxers and Saints by Gene Luen Yang

Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein

Eleanor and Park or Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Caldecott: These are my top picks. I think right now I’m the only person pulling for Stardines, but I love basically anything that is an homage to Joseph Cornell. There were SO MANY amazing picture books this year!

Stardines Fly High Across the Sky by Jack Prelutsky, illus. Carin Berger

Niño Wrestles the World by Yuyi Morales

Journey by Aaron Becker

The Mighty Lalouche by Matthew Olshan, illus. Sophie Blackall

The Dark by Lemony Snicket, illus. Jon Klassen

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

