jump to navigation

Move over NaNoWriMo, it’s PiBoIdMo too November 28, 2013

Posted by ccbooks in Nerd Line.
trackback

You’ve probably heard of NaNoWriMo or National Novel Writing Month. The goal is to write a 50,000 word novel between November 1 and November 30. Hundreds of thousands of people sign up to attempt this challenge each year–and many of them continue working on their projects and eventually get them published. Ana has attempted NaNoWriMo several times (this year it fell by the wayside pretty quickly due to schoolwork, I think) but I’ve never really bothered, since I’m not a novelist.

HOWEVER…I heard that there was a similar project centered around picture books. It’s called Picture Book Idea Month (or PiBoIdMo) and it was dreamed up by picture book author Tara Lazar. Based on her blog, it basically entails coming up with a new picture book idea every day in November. You register for the challenge on her blog and if you finish and sign a pledge saying you actually did come up with 30 ideas, you can win prizes. It’s pretty awesome.

I’ve never tried to write a picture book. I find the idea incredibly intimidating, because I know picture books (good ones) are one of the hardest kinds of writing in the world. But I’m not intimidated by ideas. I come up with those all the time (you can ask the other members of my theater company. They complain that I have too many ideas!) Will any of these ideas ever make it into book form? Who knows? Here are a few random ones–mostly terrible–that I’ve come up with this November.

1. How to Make a Tumble Tower. Not really sure what this book would be about but I like the phrase ‘tumble tower’.  It reminds me of pillow fights.

2. Zombie Pizza. So many people seem to be into zombies now…it kind of sounds like a Peter Reynolds/Adam Rubin kind of book.

3. A tape dispenser runs away from the store because it’s lazy and doesn’t want to work overtime during the holidays. This one is straight from real life. Our tape dispenser at the bookstore keeps disappearing!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

