jump to navigation

BOB, Round 3 March 31, 2014

Posted by ccbooks in Nerd Line.
trackback

Only one more week! What on earth am I going to read online to procrastinate once this Battle is over? I know, I know–that’s what Twitter is for. Two matches in this round, and here are my thoughts:

“YA has grown into such a gorgeous, vast country that to narrow it down seems impossible and probably undesirable.” –Patrick Ness

I probably would have been more surprised at the incisiveness and punch of Ness’ decision if I didn’t follow him on Twitter. After reading his ongoing comments on Twilight, I somewhat expected him to takedown one of these two titles. While I definitely agree with his pick of Boxers & Saints, I myself was not so harsh towards Far Far Away which I read as being intended for a slightly younger audience than YA, if not for middle grade. The fairy tale aspects of it, for me, took the book far away from reality and the real actions of teenagers, almost into the realm of allegory. However, I appreciated Ness’ comments on the need for specificity in order to achieve the universal and his acknowledgment of Boxers & Saints as some of the best work that YA has to offer.

 

“Do you hear that sound? That is the sound of Fate laughing her fool head off at me.” –Robin LaFevers

I probably would have gone the other way, to be honest. For me, the episodic structure of P.S. Be Eleven disrupted the pacing more than it helped the story. While I smiled at the antics of Vonetta and Fern, I laughed out loud repeatedly at Summer and Obaachan’s tangled arguments. That said, I thought LaFevers explained her decision thoroughly and I wholeheartedly agree with her final sentence and reminder that anyone who reads either or both of these titles is a winner.

As a side note, can I just say how much I love that Kid Commentator RGN is pulling so hard for Rose Under Fire to win the Undead Poll? We’ll find out the winner tomorrow…

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

