jump to navigation

A New Year, a New Goal January 6, 2015

Posted by ccbooks in Analysis.
trackback

Cecilia here, (Ana is tied up with finishing her senior year and applying for jobs or internships) finally back after a spell away overseas and lots and lots of work.

This past year was a great one for me and reading, with several events creating big changes for how and why I read.

-I started using Twitter much more regularly, getting and giving recommendations, commenting on kid lit happenings and telling lots of writers and artists how much I love what they create.

-Completing a challenge from the blog Latin@s in Kid Lit made me much more aware of what is out there in both Spanish and English for young readers and also what is lacking.

-Following on that, the We Need Diverse Books campaign gave me a way to find diverse reads in all genres and many, many reasons to champion these books to others.

I haven’t been writing as many in-depth reviews here, and there just hasn’t been as much time to research and write posts about other related topics. I’ve been putting energy into my other blog (which you should check out if you have any interest in puppetry or theater) and I don’t foresee that changing any time soon. So this blog is going to shift focus. This year, I’m tracking my reading. I have a fancy spreadsheet and a not-so-fancy composition notebook, and a whole bunch of categories I’m tracking, including of course, whether the books I read feature characters of color or are written by authors of color. I will do my best each month (maybe twice a month if I’m really on a roll) to write a short post about what I’ve been reading and see how I’m doing with regard to diversity. I’m excited to begin!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

