jump to navigation

Battle (Almost) Ready March 9, 2015

Posted by ccbooks in Uncategorized.
trackback

The SLJ Battle of the Kid’s Books starts tomorrow!!

I haven’t been quite as on top of things as in some years, and there are still two books I have yet to read. Neither one sounded terribly appealing to me, but perhaps the comments from the judges will change my mind! Before things kick off, here are my thoughts about the books in this year’s list.

Brown Girl Dreaming vs. Children of the King

Brown Girl Dreaming made me cry multiple times, every single time I read and re-read it. I like Sonya Hartnett, but did not find Children of the King terribly impressive. The protagonist seemed way younger than her stated age and in general, I wasn’t terribly invested in the characters.

The Crossover vs. Egg and Spoon

Ahhh, I loved both these books! The precision and poignancy of sibling battles and the sweep and drama of epic magical journeys! How can I choose? Will The Crossover finally break the Newbery curse? Maybe…

El Deafo vs. The Family Romanov

No contest here whatsoever. I enjoyed The Family Romanov, but it didn’t stick with me and El Deafo captured my heart in a way few books have. It has my vote in the Undead poll as well.

Grasshopper Jungle vs. The Key that Swallowed Joey Pigza

I have not read Joey Pigza. In general I find it hard to get into Jack Gantos’ writing for some reason, though I usually like it once I get going. I enjoyed Grasshopper Jungle, but got annoyed at the cardboard cutouts that were the female characters after awhile.

The Madman of Piney Woods vs. Poisoned Apples

I also haven’t read Madman of Piney Woods. I read Poisoned Apples in ARC form a very long time ago and liked it, but can’t point to any poem or image in particular that has stuck with me.

The Port Chicago 50 vs. The Story of Owen

Two books that I probably liked about the same. I wasn’t blown away by Port Chicago 50 in the same way that I was by Bomb, but I’m glad I now know about this piece of history. Likewise, The Story of Owen didn’t overwhelm me with greatness, but it was a super fun read and I’m looking forward to the sequel.

This One Summer vs. A Volcano Beneath the Snow

Ugh, I really don’t envy Nathan Hale. Talk about two ENTIRELY different books–genre, format, structure…what a thankless job. I loved This One Summer and admired Volcano. That’s about all I have to say.

We Were Liars vs. West of the Moon

Two more that I read quite awhile ago and haven’t felt the urge to go back to. I’m looking forward to hearing what Kelly Barnhill has to say about them.

Let the Battle begin!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

